Please or Register to create posts and topics.

The big Phone Mounting topic

Quote from dstnrgrs on April 15, 2021, 09:06

Just to share what I’ve been using since Sept 2019 after I discovered the Scenic app. At the time I couldn’t find any reasonably priced wireless charging mounts, but I admit I’m a cheapskate and also enjoy DIY projects, so I made my own. I have an iPhone 8, so no image stabilization issues. I ran this mount on my Vstrom and even transferred it to my DR650 for a 500 mile gravel/off-road ride. The mount held up superbly and kept my phone battery charged up nicely. The only change I’ve made since this video is to extend the wiring from the charging coil to the circuit board and waterproof it better with some adhesive lined heat shrink tubing.

I’ve since created a similar mount that snaps directly to the handlebars of my DR650 and rests atop the handlebar clamps. I’ve been over some very rough terrain and it’s held up well with no issues.

Very nice 🙂

If you're enjoying Scenic and are happy with the support, please leave a nice rating in the App Store. It would mean a lot to me ❤️

Has anyone had issues with overheating with a wireless charging head?

Since I installed my QuadLock wireless charging head I noticed that sometimes (on longer rides under the Mexican sun) my phone's brightness was less than maximum (it looks like 25% or so), even though the brightness slider in the control panel showed at 100%. Pretty hard to see anything on the screen at 25% in full sunlight.

I've since then learned that this is a built in protection against overheating of the iPhone. Also, it happened to me once that the phone overheated entirely upon which this screen shows:

No harm done, but had to wait a while and restart phone.